top of page

Futuristic Dreamers Critiques Troy from LLF's Free Play Mixtape!


The first track “Dopeness” featuring Merk S. Villain is a hard track that hooks you to want to know what else Troy from Legends Live Forever has to offer. Both emcees come at the microphone with some raw and on-point verses for their fans and listeners to template on, while listening to the smooth and jazzy instrumental. Before the Free Play Mixtape came out I was ready for some new music by Troy and I am HELLA ready for his upcoming album, if you don’t know who he is or what his music is about… WAKE UP AND GO CLICK THAT PLAY BUTTON! If you have been rockin’ with Troy and his old mixtapes or singles you will know that he did threw on some old tracks on this mixtape. The second track “Smooth Criminal” featuring DB and Lyrical Tone, both from Legends Live Forever group, all three emcees provide some dope lines such as “… look real recognize real we don’t know ya…” The hook was hella catchy and might get you hooked to continue listening to this track plus the beat knocks that you know it’s a straight slapper that carries that Bay Area sound! The third track “On Ya Helmet” isn’t a track but an interlude. The fourth track “Talk My Shit” featuring Ya Boy if you haven’t checked this track yet you have been SLEEPING!!! This track is a straight slapper with the beat, hook and verses by Troy and Ya Boy, this track SLAPS! I’m not kidding if you guys are from the BAY AREA and you don’t know this track you need to step your music game up! The fifth track “DeadFaces” featuring Ball and Hunnid Favors is still a slapper but is more gritty and grimy with the theme of seeing “dead people” as you can tell by the title of the track. Even though this track is old you can still bump this track as if it is a new track that just came out! I feel as if the hook of this track could be in one of the “Walking Dead” episode. The sixth track “Ima User” featuring Alier Johnson and by looking at the track title and introduction you can tell what the track is about. But this track puts me in a certain mood to sway back and forth or even lay on the ground and lay my laptop against a dining room table while listening to this song. This track made me do that and I’m not a user at all but this track gives me that certain feeling and after I feel hella relax that before, so be sure to listen to this track!!! The seventh track “Wake Up” featuring bE! From the Change Up Entertainment, Ooh! This track from the start is hella on point and a straight slapper. The line “…heaven tryin’ paintin’ pictures for u…” that made me love this track even more! The eighth track “Too Blessed” featuring Space Cadet and Lyrical Tone, I enjoyed listening to this track because the hook took me away from problems I face on a daily basis and this track was hella chill and made me feel that people forget what they have and that they are blessed too! I love the line “… hella faded in SFC never even knew the Giants get 3 up in the lab tryin’ to do the same thing” I loved hearing that!! The ninth track “Goddess” featuring Marley Mcnealy has more of an R&B feel to this track with the love verses and hook. This is definitely considered “grown folk music” has a touch of old school instrumental as well. Marley reminds me of Toni Toni Toni by how he sings the hook “Body …” you have to listen to this soulful love song!!! The tenth track “Real Shit” is hella gritty and more serious of what Troy is when it comes to music and his group LLF, and I love the other tracks on this mixtape but this is my favorite track! This track is for those who rock with real people and only serious people who will do the same thing for them, I can relate and I am glad Troy wrote, recorded and put this track on his mixtape! The beat is hella underground and the instrumentals are ON POINT from the start to the end of this track! You need to bumpin’ this track if you know how it is to only want to connect with or hang with the realest. The eleventh track “That Guy That Nobody Knew SKIT” this isn’t a track but another interlude and I am glad because this skit was worth listening to because it made sense of why he put this on his mixtape! Nobody knew that guy was until now… And that will soon happen to TROY from LLF! The twelfth track “Getting’ It” featuring Space Cadet and Lyrical Tone, is another track to not sleep on because it is ON FIRE you don’t want to miss out on these emcees spittin’ some real verses on this track. The hook, “I be getting’ it…” made me want to continue listening to the tracks of what this track was all about. I was bobbing my head up and down while listening to what all of these local artists had to say on this track all I had to say is that the track is FIRE! The thirteenth track “The Era” featuring Isaiah Eugene and Merk S. Villain this track is hella smooth with chill verses provided by these emcees. I also enjoyed the light hook with Biggie’s voice echoing “…just watch and take notes” this is another track worth listening to! If you don’t know any of these emcees you are missing out on real music by real artists! The last track “Live For” is something I was not expecting, the beat is different from the other 13 tracks on this mixtape! But it is a good shocker because it made see even more of growth from Troy as an artist and can’t wait to see what he will showcase on his upcoming album that drops soon!!! So stay tune! If you guys download this mixtape and any of his old music you need to spread the word!

Be sure to check him out on his social sites:

Follow him on Instagram at https://instagram.com/troyllf/

Add him on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/Troyllf

Follow him on Twitter at https://twitter.com/TroyLLF

Check out the LLF website at http://legendsliveforever.net/

And check out his Bandcamp for his old mixtapes at

http://troyllf.bandcamp.com/

Thank you for reading this,

Jerica of Futuristic Dreamers


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive

"Dreamers ... Futuristic about their dreams! -Jerica 

bottom of page