top of page

Interview with Bianca K. from Legends Live Forever


Questions:

1. People who live in the Bay Area who know about the hip-hop group "Legends Live Forever" know that you are the female of that group - What's that feeling like, do people give you credit for being in a group with a bunch of guy friends? A: I’ve been friends with the boys for about 8 years and from the very beginning, before I was even singing with them or anything they’ve always done a really good job of making me feel like I was a part of the team. We were friends first so being ‘a part’ of the group doesn’t necessarily feel any different at this point, I’m pretty used to being ‘one of the boys..’ Sometimes I have those moments where I’m like ‘Dang I’m the only girl with a bunch of guys,’ but I like the way it works. They’re extremely patient with me and they’ve never really made me feel any ‘different’ for being the only girl in the group. I think it can help to have a different perspective and voice. 2. What is your role in the group -Legends Live Forever? I know you volunteer with The City Eats, are a R&B singer and are a co-founder of For the Love of Music Sf - What made you do what you are doing now? Did someone inspire to be involved as much as you are with your city? A: I've always been an avid lover of music. It has always touched me in a very special way in just seeing that it is truly a universal language that everyone can relate to without barriers. Ever since I moved to San Francisco in 2006 I had been surrounded by musicians. Over the years I watched a lot of people just get overlooked and a lot just not have a platform to be heard on. As an artist, I know how frustrating that can be so starting For The Love of Music just seemed to make sense. I love live shows and I wanted to be able to provide that experience to others. There's so much talent out here in the Bay Area alone that we were able to have shows monthly for over a year with at least 5 different, Amazing artists on each show, each one bringing their own unique talent to the stage. Over the years a lot of venues in San Francisco have stopped working with hip-hop/rap for whatever reason so that is one of the obstacles that anyone wanting to throw shows here will have to overcome.

I've also always wanted to make a change in the community, or world & I've always wanted to work with children. But when I moved to San Francisco in 2006, as anyone that lives here or even visits here can tell you, the homeless population and community is incredible, being that it’s such a small city. I worked downtown a lot so after a while it just started to get to me. One year a few friends and I put together this event to give free haircuts to the kids before school started and the response we got back from barbers alone willing to help was eye-opening. That same year, a friend reached out to me wanting to feed the homeless on Christmas, so they prepped about a hundred sandwiches along with fruit and water and we went out and passed out meals on Christmas morning. Seeing how touched people were to have someone that cared about them or thought about them was one of the best feelings I've ever experienced, and from then on I knew that it was something that I wanted to do. The following year I teamed up with a friend and we started The City Eats to form more consistent, monthly events where we could prepare meals and feed those in need. From there it has evolved into being able to give back to the community and help the youth in so many amazing ways… and we’re just getting started. Anyone interested in volunteering or donating can check us out at www.TheCityEats.org. I’ve also recently been able to be a part of the start of mentor ship program for At Risk Youth here in the Bay Area. We are also always looking for individuals that are interested in mentoring or making donations www.SureFuture.org. 3. I remember you putting out songs and being featured on a song with Troy from Legends Live Forever - Are you going to release any new music anytime soon? A: Leaving out all the excuses, Yes I’m going to release some music soon haha. I’m so thankful for the boys for keeping me active and in the mix; when we’re in the studio it’s like ‘Bianca I need you on this hook,’ so there will definitely be more features coming with me on them soon, but I spent a lot of time last year putting different things together to put myself in a position to have more time to work on my own music and also just going through some different situations that inspired me to have something to talk about. I will hopefully be able to drop a project on my birthday July 30, so that is something to look forward to. I’m my toughest critic and in the words of one of my all time favorite artists ever, ‘I’m sensitive about my shit,’ so I just want to make sure that I release a great body of work that I’m happy with. I’m in the studio a lot so I’m always stealing Tone’s beats, he’ll be one of the main producers on my project as well as Isaiah Eugene, MA and maybe one or two others. I love having friends around me that are talented and make beats because that makes the process that much easier. I’ll probably be dropping another single ‘Cannibliss’ very soon so look out for that. 4. What made you write "Give it Up" - Was it for a specific someone now or for someone from your past and it was something you had to write now?

A: Almost anything I write comes from somewhere personal. A lot of the time I have to go through something before i'm able to write. With Give It Up it was cool because as soon as I heard the beat (I'm pretty sure I was in the studio as Tone was making the beat) the chorus came to me. I think it was my subconscious talking to me. It all came really authentically though, from a situation that I went through where I just wasn’t ready to let go. You know us women go through these situations where we are willing to overlook all the little signs because we just ‘love’ someone and we just want things to go back to when everything was great haha... And then at the end I had to make sure to throw in the, ‘but if you’re leaving then don’t come back’ part cause even though we want to hold on to people and situations, we can’t hold on to anything that doesn’t want to be held on to ultimately. And we have to be okay with that.

5. Where do you see yourself in five years from now?

A: Happy. Like EXTREMELY HAPPY! Healthy, Happy, & Helping others in a positive way. Everyone has different definitions of success so I could say ‘successful’ and that may not mean the same thing to you as it does to me but I definitely see myself living successfully and happily doing all the things that I love to do with as little stress as possible. I see us as a collective expanding and reaching goals that we have set for ourselves and developing as artists individually and as a group. As important as time is, I also think that it’s really irrelevant so I don’t necessarily like to say in 5 years I want to see myself doing this and that. Every day I plan on working towards creating the life that I want to live and turning my dreams into my reality so whether it’s 5 months from now or 5 years from now, Health, Wealth, Positivity and Prosperity are my main goals as well as being able to help make this world a better place. 6. I have been promoting LLF (Legends Live Forever) for sometime now, but for those not following that IG page or you or the rest of the group's Instagram - What are they missing out on? A: We’ve got a lot of stuff planned for this year as far as music, individually and collectively, shows, merchandise and just expanding to other places. We’d love to get a show going out there, so maybe you can set us up with something haha, But for anyone that is not familiar with us, our website www.LegendsLiveForever.net is constantly being updated and merchandise can be found on www.LegendsLiveForever.bigcartel.com. 7. I ask all of the local artists I interview, but if I were to look at your iPhone's music playlist or computer's library - What kind of genres or songs would I find? A: Man if you look on my old computer library, before my computer crashed, you would have found a little bit of everything but heavy rock. I’m big on oldies, Rap, hip-hop, R&B, gospel, jazz a bit. My playlist can go from twerk, turn-up music to Kirk Franklin easily. On any of my devices you’ll always find Kanye, Tupac, Drake, Lauryn & Erykah. 8. Where can new followers find your music and follow you and the rest of group from Legends Live Forever's social media sites?

A: Twitter : @LegendsLive4eva Instagram : @Legends_Live_Forever And our personal instagrams/twitters : @its_BiancaK @LegendaryTone @TroyLLF @DB_LLF


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive

"Dreamers ... Futuristic about their dreams! -Jerica 

bottom of page