top of page

Interview with One Werd


Q1. What made you want to name yourself "ONE WERD"?

It actually came from graffiti....I was trying to think of what "word" to write, and well.....that was it! Graff names usually end with a "one", so I decided to flip that since it sounded cool. I've always dug working with language and vocabulary, and I'm an English teacher, so it's seemed appropriate in the long run.

Q2. What motivates or who inspires you to create and then record the music you do?

Hard to say...I think the paths we take in life ultimately choose us, and that's always seemed to be the case in my creative process. The title and main theme behind my most recent album "Just Sayin" kind of focused on this.....the idea that art and creativity are something that come through us. Mostly I just feel like it's my job to get out of the way and let it happen....when I do that I feel like I'm connecting to something that's bigger than myself, which gives me a deeper sense of purpose and satisfaction both in my music and my life in general.

Q3. What do you expect the world or your fans to gain after listening to your music?

Hopefully some piece of the same feeling that I get when I'm creating. I can completely lose all sense of time & the world around me when I'm producing, writing, recording, performing......for me it's something that takes me somewhere else. I think the more logical, left brain aspects of our lives can get pretty suffocating sometimes. Music and art make me feel free, and I hope I can share that with someone thru creating it!

Q4. Is there a special tradition before rocking a small or big show? And do you get nervous before getting in front of people?

Most definitely.....I get super nervous about a lot of aspects of performance, but I usually feel like it goes away once I start. Often, it helps to make the performance better! I try to take time to meditate and v=center myself as much as possible before rocking.....definitely helps me to enjoy the experience and be a little more present.

Q5. If you had won the lottery how would you spend your money?

Wow.....not really sure. Aside from taking care of family & friends, probably invest in something that would allow me to do music full time without having to worry about cash ;)

Q6. What does your music stand for, is there a theme or negative or positive message?

I think the first theme that ever resonated with me through my own music was to be myself and be honest. The first time I realized that I could authentically be myself through my music and have others appreciate it was the moment I knew this is what I would do for the rest of my life. I'd like to think that's pretty positive :)

Q7. I ask all the local artists I interview but if I could look at your iPhone or computer what kind of genres or songs would I find?

I'm a pretty big indy hip hop nerd, and in the last few years I've gotten more and more heavily into electronic music in general. Rap-wise I've grown up on all the classic indy labels....Rhymesayers, Legendary Music, Strange Famous, anticon, etc. I hate admitting it, but dubstep opened the door to most bass music genres for me, as well as anything else kinda weird & electronic.

Q8. I have been following your for sometime now, but for those who aren't what are they missing out on?

Me! Lol....but seriously....I'd like to think of myself as honest indie rap lyricism that aims to push boundaries in terms of production styles & recording approaches. Everything I do is self produced, mixed and released as well, so I'd say what you get from me is a pretty pure representation of who I am and what I want to create.

Q9. Where can new followers find your music or follow you on your social media?

Much love for the support Futuristic Dreamers! You can find me in the following places:

https://soundcloud.com/onewerd

https://onewerd.bandcamp.com/

www.facebook.com/OneWerd

https://twitter.com/onewerd

Instagram: @onewerdy


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive

"Dreamers ... Futuristic about their dreams! -Jerica 

bottom of page