top of page

Interview with ZELLi


Questions:

1. What made you come up with "ZELLi" as a stage name? Is there a back story of why you chose that ?

A: I get this question all the time, funny, but I came up with ZELLi summer going into senior year in high school (2012). I had been experimenting with a series of names that shall remain nameless (LOL) and I kid you not, I went to lay on my bed, closed my eyes and thought "okay let's be serious and realistic here" the first name that popped up was zelli. I wasn't sure why and in fact had never heard of that name before, but I got up to write it on a piece of paper and liked the way it looked. I also went online to make sure no one else had my name and the only thing that came up was an Italian shoe company ... Lmao

2. Does anyone inspire you to pursue this dream that you have?

A: There isn't one particular person that inspires me. I would say it's a combination of people and life experiences. Growing up I loved being in front of cameras and spent 6 years doing competitive cheer and gymnastics. I also did 10 years of theater so I knew I wanted to be some sort of entertainer. I knew my dad was big in the city but as I got older and more aware of my surroundings it came to my attention that Silver Shadow D, my father, was and is still in fact a legend in this region. So I was also kind of born into music as well and didn't get in tuned with it until high school.

3. Have you performed anywhere else besides Central Saloon? If so, what's been your favorite place you've performed at? And do you plan to tour soon - possibly outside of Washington?

A: Aside from the Central Saloon, I've performed at the Crocodile Back Bar, Studio Seven, Nectar Lounge, more bars and clubs that I can't think off top my head and a series of events such as Umoja Fest and Unsigned Mondays. My favorite so far would have to be the Crocodile. The atmosphere is super chill and fun at the same time and they always take care of me whether I'm performing or coming in for a quick bite. Shoutout to Liz!

4. I enjoy listening to your performances last Thursday and specifically the chill hip-hop flow you had, what made you go in that type of zone and write that track?

A: My music is very versatile and because of my strong Hip Hop background it's easy for me slip into a quick boom bap vibe. I include that in my sets to show people that I'm more than just the turn up queen. I really do care about music and the craft itself. I also respect Hip Hop a lot and draw those lines to show that I can be a lyricist.

5. Should we expect a mixtape or album any time soon or upcoming shows?

A: I am currently working on my EP "Solid" which will be out very soon. I also just released a remix of my single "Get Down". Shoutout to my guy Luna God, he did his thang on that! Next month May 17th I will be opening up for the great SassyBlack from TheeSatisfaction at Barboza. She is having a album release show! #NoMoreLameDates

6. If someone was to place you into a category for iTunes or Google Play where would you fit?

A: I feel like I fit into all categories of music stream services, especially when Solid drops. I want everyone from every demographic to have access to my music so I am open to all forums.

7. What do you expect your audience or current fans to get from listening to your music?

A: My core fans know that I can spit and they also know that I can turn up. With that said they get a little bit of everything. I listen to different types of music based on my mood and I like to apply that same concept to my music.

8. Where do you see yourself in five years from now, still performing?

A: 5 years from now I see myself if not mainstream already, definitely close and well known. I take a lot of time with my craft to make sure everything sounds right so I would like to have 2 albums out and some sort of tour by then too. This business isn't cheap especially when you're independent so everything is time and money. I've learned to have patience and let the universe have some control.

9. I have been following and promoting you for a little bit, but for those not following what are they missing out on?

A: On social media I am pretty sporadic. There will be weeks where I'm super boring then weeks when I'm poppin but if you don't follow me on snapchat (zelli) you're missing out on my daily food flicks...lol.

10. I ask all of the local artists I interview, but if I were able to look at your iPhone's playlist or computer's library - What kind of genres or songs would I find?

A: Lord Jesus....my music catalog is so random. I have a little bit of everything for my moods. I'm in love with old school music so you'll see a ton of that. But yea I got everything from Chicago Juke music to Teena Marie. You name it, I probably got it.

11. Where can new followers find your music and follow you on your social media sites?

A: Here are my various links below. I look forward to interacting with you all!

www.facebook.com/seazelli

Twitter: @Z3LLi

Instagram: z3lli_

www.soundcloud.com/z3lli


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive

"Dreamers ... Futuristic about their dreams! -Jerica 

bottom of page