top of page

Interview with Cold Sholda


Questions:

Q.Where in Brooklyn are you from?

A.Gravesend, it's a neighborhood that seperates Bensonhurst from Coney Island. If you google it you'll find it's rich in history.

Q.What did you get your MC name from?

A. I got my name from my friend whom I grew up with.We would go around battling and cyphering all day and everyday as teens. One day, he spit a verse about how when I battle I always approach people with the cold shoulder.Once he said that, it stuck. I changed the spelling to make it my own.

Q. At what age did you begin rapping?

A. I wrote my first rap when I was 9 but it wasn't until 14 when I started taking it seriously. I won my first rap battle on stage at a local nightclub at 18 and by 20 I opened my first business, a studio slash barber shop. That only lasted a summer as I was too young and wasn't focused. I decided to take a couple of years off from everything. Then, one day my boy Steve was like "bro their is so much garbage out there you need to get back at it". So, I picked up the pen and haven't put it down since.

Q.I promote some local artists from the East Coast, but what makes your flow unique?

A. To be honest, I don't really listen to rap like I used to but what I can tell you is that I write from the heart. I'm never concerned about pleasing people.So, I guess in the world of today's HipHop that's what makes me unique

Q.What is your ultimate goal to accomplish with pursuing the music career?

A. Honestly, my goal is just to put out raw hiphop that people keep saying they miss. I already have a great job and I do this for the love. Plus, I want to help bring Brooklyn back to the forefront of the game. If I can do that, my goals will be accomplished.

Q.I ask all the artists I interview this, but if I had to look at your iPod or playlists what kind of artists or songs would I find?

A. You would find Canibus, The Lox, Wu-Tang, Mos Def, Fabolous, Papoose and a lot of Italian music

Q.What is it like to be Cold Sholda on a daily basis?

A. I'm always grinding whether I am at work or home. I like to keep busy when I find the time to kill beats and exercise. I'm 31, a home owner with responsibilities, so no more partying or clubbing for me. Those days are over, now it's work work work.

Q.Should we be expecting an EP or mixtape any time soon?

A. Yes, I have a lot of projects in the works. I'm almost done recording my next EP which is called "Well Connected" produced by my Brooklyn Cuzzo, Frank 5 Angelz. Plus, i'm half way through writing the follow up EP "Mob Hitz" produced by Joe Josh Beats. Both producers are fellow Brooklyn Italians like myself. So, I'm excited to help shine a light on them as much as they will for me. So, yes I got some fire on the way and make sure to follow me on Instagram @cold_sholda and on Twitter @coldsholdamusic

Be sure to follow Cold Sholda on his social sites - Links are below:

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/coldsholda1

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/coldsholda

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Coldsholdamusic

Instagram: https://instagram.com/cold_sholda/

And be sure to cop that hella dope "Fire Starta" album on https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/fire-starta/id882823595


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive

"Dreamers ... Futuristic about their dreams! -Jerica 

bottom of page