top of page

Interview with Jay Thursday


Questions:

1. How did you get your stage name, any special story behind it?

Haha, one of my favorite stories.. I have a friend whose name is Stef Tuesday.. On Tuesdays in the LES, there's a dope bar that has $1 beers, so we all got together to chill and drink. One day at work, a customer came in and after chopping it up with him for 30 minutes about music, he gave me his card and his name was Chris Wednesday, and that very moment I decided I was gonna adapt the name Jay Thursday. Keep the trend going, you know? Haha

2. How would you label you're music (pop, soul, rap, trap, hip-hop) or a mix of some of those genres?

I'd like to think that I'm currently in the developmental stage of my music, where I'm still searching for my specific sound. Typically, I'd fall under the hip-hop category, even though my project has plenty of tracks w/ me singing on them.. Family tradition honestly.

3. Do you have any upcoming mixtapes or albums?

I do! I'm currently putting the finishing touches on Sleep On Me, which I was supposed to release back in March. Right before releasing it I played the tracks for a few people, one of which was my now mentor, Cleetchie. Cleetchie has a ton of experience, and after a lot of long nights in the studio we decided it would be better to perfect the music before putting it out.

4. What should we expect from you in the near future?

Aside from the mixtape, I do plan on getting busy this summer with shows around the tri-state area, predominately New York.. Got some special stuff cooking up I can't really speak on yet.

5. How do you know @theofficialwordplay, are you guys old friends?

My little brother Nasa Jordan really captured a lot of attention musically in Queens, and knew a lot of the young artists from there while we were growing up. I met wordplay through my baby brother, and also at a showcase we both performed at called Build Your Brand.

6. When did you begin you career as an artist?

I've been creating for over 10 years.. Like I mentioned before, it's pretty much a family tradition. In 2014, when I got laid off from my job, I started building my platform to make music a career, and at the beginning of 2015 I officially started pushing my brand.

7. I ask all of the people I interview, but if I could look through you're iPod or phone. What kind of artists or music would I find?

I typically keep my library small to avoid blocking my own creativity. Right now, I've got J. Cole's first 3 mixtapes and 2014 Forrest Hills Drive, Kanye West's OLD projects(Grad School, Lost Tracks & Features, etc.), Dom Kennedy(Yellow Album, Get Home Safely) and a hefty playlist of Old School R&B that I whipped up when I started DJ'ing called "Throwback Thursday" haha

8. What are some of the other things you're currently involved in?

I have been working with The Rapfest, a super fresh and innovative blog that prided ourselves on pushing the culture forward and providing a platform for indie artists to grow. I'm one of the hosts for our podcast The Bloggers Block which is a cool chance for me to get behind the mic in a different fashion.. I'm also cooking up something sick that I'm not able to speak fully of yet haha. Just know, EverydayDopeLife.Com coming soon!!

Be sure to follow him on his social sites:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JayThursday

Instagram: https://instagram.com/jaythursday/

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/jay-thursday


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive

"Dreamers ... Futuristic about their dreams! -Jerica 

bottom of page