top of page

Interview with 1Lady


Q1. How did you get your emcee name 1Lady, any special story?

A: When I was growing up in my neighborhood, I would walk down the street, the folks would call me Little Lady. Then it became Lady, so Lady sort of stuck with me. When I started rapping, I knew I had to use Lady. I wasn't in a group or a duo, I was a solo artist, so I decided to add the 1 and I always liked the number 1 and it sort of evolved from there.

Q2. At what age did you decide you were going to label yourself as a female emcee?

A: It started when I was young, about 11 or so. As a kid, I knew I wanted to make music. It's funny, cause I thought I was gonna be a singer. I remember back in elementary I would sing boy bands' songs during lunch and my friends would join in and it would be like a Glee episode. Looking back now is hilarious because it was more of a sing-a-long, karaoke kind of thing. But as I started to involve myself more with writing and writing poetry, it became more of a spoken word and I was just flowing. I wanted to move and bring people together with my words.

Q3. I have been following you for sometime now and know your journeys been crazy busy. But for those not following you what are they missing out on?

A: They're missing out on some crazy, dope shows and music!

Q4. If you could describe your Bourne Madd Tour experience in three words, what would it be?

A: A MADD Experience

Q5. Any interesting stories from the Bourne Madd Tour?

A: Not too much of interesting stories, but more of interesting experiences. It was an eye opener, for sure. No one knows what goes on behind the scenes and all the hard work and dedication that's put into it. I've got to give it up to my Bourne MADD Tour mates and to everyone involved in making this happen! Much love to y'all! It was dope!

Q6. Since your back in the Bay Area any upcoming shows, interviews or new music dropping soon?

A: Actually, I'm from the Valley. People mistaken that cause most of my shows are in the Bay Area. Stockton, stand up! But yeah, now that I'm back and I have free time, I'm taking the time to work on new music. I do have upcoming shows and you can find that out on my social medias.

Q7. I ask every local artist I interview this, but if I could go through your playlist on computer or phone-what genres or artists would I find?

A: Not even gonna lie, you're gonna find a lot of Tinashe. Alot of old school and new school R&B. It's a mixture of artists and genres of music.

Q8. What kind of artist would you say you are- One that freely expresses how they feel or has a closed mind and only focuses on what they think fans should or want to hear?

A: I'm definitely one that freely expresses how I feel and not give a shit. I used to worry about what others thought of me and what they wanted to hear, but I felt so trapped and limited and not myself. That's not how it should be. Now, I use music as my outlet to express myself freely and I don't give two shits if no one fucks with it. I'm gonna still do it and be me.

Q9. Where can people find your music or follow you to keep up?

A: You can find me at

Instagram: @1ladyyy

Twitter: @1ladyyy

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/1ladyofficial Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/1ladyy

Soundcloud: http://www.soundcloud.com/1lady


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive

"Dreamers ... Futuristic about their dreams! -Jerica 

bottom of page