top of page

Interview with Tey Yaniis


Q1. What made you want to be a musician, is there a story behind it? A: I started out very early playing instruments with my schools orchestra and jazz band. My mother also played musical instruments and honestly I just realized how much of an influence she was on getting me to start off my musical journey. As time went on I developed a strong passion for Hip-Hop and I really nourished that love and began writing poetry. It took a long time to find a sound that I was comfortable with but when I meshed Hip-hop with a soulful feel that was when I found my true calling which is speaking life and positivity through my music with a live feel.

Q2. How long did it take to write and produce the instrumental for "My Coffee Brown"? A: Shout out to my guy Bink Wills and Chris Keys. It really didn't take my guys long to produce the record at all! The feeling was just beautiful when we were finished with it that it had to be my single! When I'm writing songs I put a good song lyrically together in about an hour. I feed off life experiences. That's the best tool for me because everything is organic and relatable to my true life. Q3. What is your studio sessions like? A: Hilarious!!!! I love making people laugh and I hate boring studio sessions with a passion. So I'm always cracking jokes about something. Eventually we get it done but to break the ice I'm always trying to make people laugh and have a good time because once the vibe is there then the recording will be so much smoother because we are comfortable with each other. I can’t stand a studio session with no energy. I really keeps things super funny and creative LOL!!! Q4. If you could have a legit record label offer a deal, would you take it? A: It just depend on the situation. That's a touchy subject for me because I want to have space to create, but I'm very business minded as well. I honestly couldn't say. If the situation was smooth then maybe. Q5. If you could choose between fame and just being well known, which one would it be? A: Music is my business but being a part of people lives is important to me as well. Fame comes with the territory. Humility is my biggest thing and providing for my family is crucial as well. Putting your music out there will def bring fame but it’s just how you handle it. Q6. I ask all the local artists I interview- But if I could look at your mp3 files what kind of genre or songs would I find? A: Man if soul-hop was a genre that is exactly what it would be. I love the live element of musicianship. I'm on ITunes, Spotify and the whole nine but it’s like I’ve been put into RnB categories but I love soul so I don't mind it. I also love original house music like Chicago style house music that has live elements. So when my EP drops you will see mos def my influeThences. Q7. I have been following you for some time now since your interview with Da Madd Houze radio on KPOO. But to those who aren't following you on your social sites, what are they missing out on? A: My journey!! I have just started making a mark for myself musically. I just want people to see my growth in music and spiritually. I'm just on my grind to get ready for my upcoming EP the Soul jones Collection which will be my debut EP. Q8. What is the rest look like for you; upcoming shows or tour or new music? A: I will be in Dallas, Los Angeles, and North Carolina Soon so I hope to add more dates in 2016 but right now I'm focused on my EP and trying to build my brand up for the rest of the year! Also my video for My Coffee Brown will be dropping soon! Big things ahead but I'm just thankful for everything thing right now. Q9. Where can new followers find your music or follow to keep up with you? A: Log on to www.teyyaniis.com and my social media links are all there so just rock with me!! Or you can google Tey Yaniis and check my latest blogpost and press releases and such. Thank you so much for having me and I'm so glad that we are building!! Shout out to Futuristic Dreamers baby #LOVE


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive

"Dreamers ... Futuristic about their dreams! -Jerica 

bottom of page