top of page

Interview with Promoter: Jermaine Greaves


1. What made you get into promoting or plan events?

When I started Promoting 4 years ago November 2011 I came into promoting want to change the landscape of what I was seen in the New York music scene as an event planner with a disability i want to show myself and others that their is no limit to what you can do. I also want to put together quality events i felt were timeless and meaningful in hip hop culture i really started promoting just to be social and party but as i got into it i saw it as a business and just decide to not only do parties but festival in store and concerts. I also do artist development as well.

2. What is you're life like on a daily basis - hectic?

My Life On A regular basis is pretty good right now before i started promoting more as a career path i was a college student studies theater arts and work odd jobs and such in the last 2 years i moved out I'm living with roommates right now and that has been a great learning experience. Also I was born with a disability known as cerebral palsy the condition is one where it affect your physical skills in some ways like i can walk just not as fast but I'm able to physically do a lot but it takes more time. my disability is a part of me but it not all of me. I'm just enjoy the growth of elevate in this business.

3. Do you have a team or do you promote solo?

When I started promoting in the beginning i was promoted alone no one pay me for put an event together and i loss a ton of money and i was wondering how to network in my first year of planning events after going through a period where i has no one to help me i has to slowly building relationship that i felt were meaningful and i has to find people who respect me for me and understood that i means business I have a Team as of the last year and a half and it feel like family it a rappers photographers and graphic design it 3-4 of us but things do get done and we bounce off ideas and such it great.

4. Where are you from?

I was born in Guyana as a kid but move to the united states when i was a kid at 9 years old Growing up in New York has been a cultural melt pot people from all walks of life gender and background every part of NYC has it own personality and life. you can go to the city and get a cool vibe and then go to the hood and get a reggae dance hall culture as well as hip hop. the best thing about NYC for me is how busy it is and the ability to do anything anywhere and to meet creative people who support you that a blessed.

5. Do you promote people locally or worldwide?

I promote Artists Locally And Worldwide You Could Be from Anywhere as Last as i like What your message is musically you are cool in my books and i like to work with new artists as more of a artists development i am also very good at promote on social media and event promotion.

6. What do you enjoy most from promoting?

One Of The Things I enjoy most from promoting is meet creative individuals who have clear goals of where they see themselves also meet people who are veteran in the entertainment industry who offers me a word of encouragement or mentor ship it always good. when I'm able to learn from those around me and give the wisdom i just learn to someone else this industry is trial and error but i believe as long as you keep going you getting better i just enjoy when an artist tell me I'm doing a great job or someone book me for a show that is love and i respect all of it.

7. Have you promoted or worked with anyone somewhat famous or hella known?

Yeah I know A lot of Up and Coming Artists Who are on their way to blow up and getting some recognition Dymeaduzin Scott Morris Justine Skye The Skins Chelsea Reject The Most famous I ever meet was spike Lee and Damian Lillard of the Portland Trailblazers and Scott Morris of the deanslisttour

8. I ask everyone I interview this question, so if I could look through you're iPod or

phone. What kind of songs or artists would I find?

The Music I listen to is Big Sean Future Oshun NYC Erkyah Badu Lauryn Hill Rakim And usher and wale

Be sure to follow him and below are his contact information for any upcoming events you might need some assistance with! Also be sure to check out the exclusive YouTube videos that will be available in my video section!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive

"Dreamers ... Futuristic about their dreams! -Jerica 

bottom of page