top of page

Interview with Daz3 from Rare Breed


Q1. What does your artist name - Daz3 mean and how did you come up with that?

A: I came up with the name "Daz3" based on the fact that my artist persona is so far from my actual personality. But at the same time it's always changing; as in I'm in a "daze" when I rap. It's a character I tap into. I rap, sing, do poetry, and I have all kinds of styles.

And the "3" in my name represents my actual name "Tray".

Q2. What made you want to put out "Ransom" remix to G-Eazy's track "Random"?

A: I really recorded that track in less than 3 hours. I came across the track on YouTube and heard like 2 bars and decided I wanted to do it. I respect G-Eazy to the FULLEST. He's a beast. But I wanted to try my hand at a remix. I rarely do it. So it was great lyrical exercise; probably the best I've ever spit over a beat. But "Ransom" is just me demanding attention; calling out the game essentially. Basically tho, it's just Daz3 being Daz3...Doing something unexpected and challenging. It's one of my favorite tracks to date.

Q3. By the look of your Instagram posts you seem to always be in the studio, do you ever go home or are you always recording new tracks?

A: I work a 9-6 job. It's temporary. But I rarely rest. My boy (RareBreed Founder K Cloudz) and I live in the same house & my room literally is the studio room. We live in the studio. I get off work and I go home (the studio) and I'm usually end up recording from the time I get home til 3-4am. And get ready for work at 6am. Every morning. It's a never ending cycle. But I love it.

Q4. For those not following you what are they missing out on?

A: They're missing out on the grind. Ain't no question on whether we're gonna get heard, it's really based on who heard us. We wanna make music on a higher level. K Cloudz is crazy dedicated. He taught himself to engineer. I'm dedicated. I write and sometimes mix my own shit. We aren't like anyone else. Which is why we go by "RareBreed". I'd love for everyone to fuck with us but you know how it is coming up; everyone is a rapper. Everyone does music. We just wanna show that we aren't like "Everybody". You missing out on the beginning of something great sleeping on us. Lol.

Q5. Will you have any upcoming shows or maybe tour in the near future?

A: For sure gonna have a few shows coming up. Touring is in the cards. We're just getting ourselves right & putting ourselves in position. It's been a mission but we're working hard at it.

Q6. What do you want the world or your fan base to get from listening to your music?

A: I just want them to hear the passion and message in my music. I breathe this in a major way. I been thru HELLA shit! And I want that pain and conviction to show thru my music to my fans and the world. My story ain't like no one else.

Q7. I ask all of the local artists I interview, but if I could look through your iPhone or computer what kind of genres or songs would I find?

A: Everything. Lmao. I just got "Lady Leeshur - Queens Speech 4"; she's DOPE (gonna kill that beat btw). I have MGK new album. Fire. G-Eazy (of course), Hella Kevin Gates. He real af. Deadmau5, Tyga, Wayne, Drake, thee usual suspects. I been on K Camp lately. He talented af.

Q8. Where can new followers find your music or follow you on your social media?

A: www.soundcloud.com/daz3rare

http://m.audiomack.com/artist/daz3rare

Search "Daz3" on datpiff (all our old shit)

www.facebook.com/daz3rare for news


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page