top of page

Interview with Royouknow


Questions:

Q1. How did you come up with your stage name "Royouknow" - Is there an interesting story?

A: Royouknow comes from my nickname that people used to call me in middle school and high school Roro. It then turned into Royouknow because if you didn’t know me as Ro then you didn’t know me.

Q2. We have had small conversations about dreams, but what how do you define a true dreamer?

A: A true dreamer is someone who wakes up every morning and consistently works hard on whatever it is they are after regardless of the adversity.

Q3. I am currently listening to "Okay" Ft. Danelle Rabang on your Soundcloud - I can relate to writing about something vulnerable, but made you record this and put it out for the world to hear?

A: The concept for Okay was based off my feelings for the passing of my father. It took over two years to find the words for how I felt. There would be times when I sat down and wrote like the first verse were it was like my dad was writing every lyric, he needed to send me this message to never give up, to not feel sad, and to use my gift of creativity to help the world. Other times I would sit down to write this song and reminisce on the precious memories that we spent together especially the last eight months when he was diagnosed with brain cancer. It took me a very long time to write the song because a lot of the time I would become over emotional and unable to finish. A lot of verses were cut out and re-worded because I wanted the song to be an impeccable observation of my father and his incredible impact he had on my life and the lives of others.

Q4. What do you expect your audience or current fans to gain after discovering your music?

A: Peace of mind, and understanding that they are not alone in this world.

Q5. I have been following for some time now, but for those not following what are they missing out on?

A: For the people who do not know me, they may not be missing out on anything, but for some I hope they may find my music has a meaning. Every lyric has been inspired by life experiences. So if anything, they would be missing out on real hip-hop.

Q6. If you could travel while on tour somewhere you haven't been before - where would you go?

A: London, the hip-hop scene looks hot out there.

Q7. If I came down to visit the home (Bay Area) and was able to come through to one of you studio sessions, what would that be like?

A: Super chill. We would be posted up with my producer who is a family friend and has been in my life for decades. Whenever I’m in the studio I’m never reading off paper, its all in my head and premeditated. If your ever in Oakland hit me up.

Q8. I ask all of the local artists I interview, but if I were to look at your iPhone or computer - What kind of genres or songs would I find?

A: Blues, Jazz, R&B, and Hip-Hop are my top for genres however I listen to every type of music of quality. My inspiration or influence mostly comes from Jazz and Hip-Hop based music. Anything with a saxophone, that is my favorite sound.

Q9. Where can new followers find your music or follow you on your social media sites?

A: www.aroyalmasterpiece.com

Instagram: ROyouknooow

Twitter: ROyouknow

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page