top of page

Interview with R.A.Y


Questions:

1. How did you decide to use "R.A.Y" as your stage name?

A: The name 'R.A.Y' funnily enough is the initials of my name (Reise Alexander Yarde). When I first started making music I would record at a friends house. One day we were running through names and he actually scratched his chin said 'what is your initials and BOOM its been that ever since aha.

2. Do you have any upcoming shows coming up?

A: At present I am focusing heavily on visuals and my YouTube presence. I have done a few shows in london previously but feel it is good to have an audience connect with you on a visual level, so they are aware and can see exactly what you are talking about rather then guess.

3. After listening to your song "I Like it" it seems like you have something to tell the world about yourself as an artist? I loved how you used an old school sample I actually grew up with that style of music as a young child, so that hooked me when hearing your song. What made you want to use the sample from DeBarge?

A: The production itself came from a producer named Troiboi in London. I heard the beat and fell in love with it. I felt infused with it and was able to tell a story on more of an authentic level and not just 'having a moment'. I grew up listening to debarge and other great musicians who heavily influenced me ( Jon B, Donnell Jones ect). The 'i like it' part of the sample used I felt definitely related to how I felt when I heard any of my own musical content so, I definitely felt I had to share my story with others by using it.

The message from the song I gave was that I have received quite a hard time from where I am as a musician because I did not fit the mold with the style of music I made. I grew up on old school U.S hip-hop and literally gravitated towards it and felt I understood it. When I came to writing my own content I have always put all my energy of those I have learned from into my music so it comes out very 'U.S ish' I've been told. Which isn't favoured if you are from london and live in london. But music speaks for itself and I love where I am from and also what I have learned. I love both my peers music from London and also from U.S I learn from both.

4. I recognized from your Instagram and @lovelife45 had mentioned you're from London, do you still live over there or are you living in the states?

A: Currently I am living in london. I am British and have always lived here. I have found the majority of my fanbase are from the U.S! So I have been making it my goal now to possibly move out there and really get my movement of the ground, If the right networks are made.

5. What do you expect your audience or current fans to get from listening to your music?

A: From listening to my music I want my supporters (new and current) to know what is on my mind. I found music to be the best tool to express yourself. If I am feeling I type of way I write... Thats the way it's always been for me. With tracks I am very honest and would expect my supporters to get a better idea of where I am coming from and also understand what my lane is. I always keep it 100.

6. Where do you see yourself in five years from now, still performing?

A: Music will always be a huge part of my life. I have been doing it now for 3 years, Which isn't an incredibly long But, I feel I will always be able to pick up a pen and interact with those who are supporting me through a musical body of work.

I do see acting for myself in the pipeline and also abit of modelling. I have dabbled with the 2 in the past but never have had the time really to pursue them. Music comes first!

7. I just recently began promoting you but for those not following what are they missing out on?

A: The next up. I want to be able to make my supporters proud. All the money in the world would never change that.

8. I ask all of the local artists I interview, but if I were able to look at your iPhone's playlist or computer's library - What kind of genres or songs would I find?

A: Tory Lanez, Tinashe, Future, Young Dolph, Jhene Aiko, Mila J, Timberland, and Aaliyah.

9. Where can new followers find your music and follow you on your social media sites?

A: I am literally on everything: @MrOfficialRay

Soundcloud has all of my music content. YouTube I am currently building. Don't sleep on me guys aha.

Thank you for having me Futuristic Dreamers

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page