top of page

Interview with Nasa Jordan


Questions:

1. What's your back story as a local artist, did anyone inspire you to pursue this dream?

A: To be honest what inspired me was how hard and difficult people say it is to be a hiphop artist. It is hard but the challenge motivates me. I always had it in me to make something out of nothing so this is just one of those ventures. 2. How did you come across the name -"Nasa Jordan"?

A: It's funny because it was actually just a bar in a verse originally. I wrote "I'm balling and I'm fly, call me Nasa Jordan" then as I read that part over and over I was like that's it! I never even finished that verse by the way but I definitely ran with the name. 3. What do you expect your audience or current fans to get from listening to your music?

A: I want everyone to realize I am just like them. I've experienced being broke. I've experienced being slept on. I know how it is to build something from scratch. Although I may seem to have a easy life it's because I know where I am headed and that's the top. I want people to feel good about themselves. 4. How would you label your sound? (Ex. Underground Hip-Hop, Rap, or New school).

A: New school definitely because I am refreshing. I don't do what everyone has done in the past. For example my song "Bullets" has a EDM/Hip-Hop/Rock tone to it. I don't really box myself in so it's safe to label it "New School". 5. I know I am just interviewing you but, how did you form the hip-hop group ("Stick Up Crew") you are currently in?

A: After a long lonesome journey I realized people love movements more than a solo act. So me and some of my close friends united, forming the group Stickup Crew. Now we see people becoming more involved because they feel like they're a part of us. 6. Where do you see yourself in five years from now?

A: I see myself in the industry, working with some of the people I've been inspired by or enjoyed watching. 7. Do you have any upcoming projects that you might currently be working on?

A: Yes, Stickup Crew is constantly working on new material. We have a surprise coming soon, we worked with some of the cast from the hottest web series in New York right now "Money & Violence". 8. Do you remember how we began networking on Instagram?

A: I actually stumbled across you doing reviews on a couple people I know personally. Nothing doper than seeing someone especially a female so into hiphop as you are! 9. I have been following and promoting you for a while now, but for those not following what are they missing out on?

A: They're missing out on a artist who is consistent. Someone who may inspire them daily whether it be a quote I post at 3AM or a picture of me working on my craft. Lastly, they're missing out on seeing the growth of the next big Hip-Hop group Stickup Crew! 10. I ask all of the local artists I interview, but if I were to look at your iPhone's music playlist or computer's library - What kind of genres or songs would I find?

A: Definitely love my Hip-hop and R&B. You'll see everything from Dom Kennedy's jazziest records to Kanye and even some trap music. But overall you'll see a lot of unsigned artist who are big to me. 11. Where can new followers find your music and follow you on your social media sites?

A: Everything is @StickupNasa (Twitter, Soundcloud, & Instagram).

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page