top of page

Interview with KaeBee


Questions:

1. What made you want to be a local artist - Anyone inspire you to pursue this dream?

A: Real talk, nobody at the time when I started. It was mostly people who run their own business and got their own hustle that they built from the ground up that made me want to add this to my life. I just always wanted to put out some kind of music and that's how I started with The Experiment EP

2. What's the backstory on how you named yourself as "KaeBee"?

A: It's just my initials spelled out, I was just thinkin of all the nicknames I had growing up and one of my homies used to always call me KB so I just decided to spell it out.

3. Do you have any upcoming shows coming up?

A: Yea, March 26th Ima be opening in Walnut Creek for Chris O'Bannon, HBK CJ, and Element at The Red House Studios

4. How long did it take for you put the project "21" together before recording?

A: I worked on the mixtape almost the whole 2015 but I wasn't working on just music every day tho. In January and February all I did was make beats and I recorded the track Startin Over in February, but I never really wrote the songs on this project. I like to vibe while the beats playing and come let it just flow. I feel like when you get in your zone in not hard to come up with a hook or even start comin up wit lines when youre hella into it. So I mostly record one track at a time. Or sometimes I'll do everything I can til I stop feelin it, and then come back to it later.

5. So we recently had a small conversation on a part of my life, which you said was very similar to how you felt about yours, how so?

A: So you mention in that conversation a down point in your young adult life, and it had to do with something you were passionate for. Me! I tried out for 2 hoop teams, and the third time I got injured. So while I was trippin off that and couldn't walk for a few months, I started making hella beats while sittin with my foot in an ice bucket. At the time making music was the only thing that really made feel the same as dribbling a ball. I just feel like before I got injured and then got to start experiencing being an artist and getting out there, I was more stuck in my ego and small minded. Its made me grow a lot, and taught me a lot about myself and how I grew as a hooper when I was younger to.

6. After listening to "21" on Soundcloud I could feel the emotions through some of your tracks such as "Startin Over", "Stay" , "Bullsh*t" and "You Right". I realize some artists have trouble sharing vulnerable songs to the world, what's your perspective on that?

A: I just feel like when you make a song more personal or not even so personal but authentic by using details that the listener has to rewind and play again, makes the listener remember who you are and it adds to your timeline. Every great artist had a one if you listen to their early projects. Outside of music I never really been a person to put my business out there like that. I didn't like using instagram or facebook, and some of the storys in my songs I always kept to myself. No joke sometimes I hate it. But at the same time, when someone tells me how a certain part of a song relates to them, I love that shit!

7. For those local artists from the Bay Area who haven't rocked a "Unrapped hip-hop show" with Babii Cris, what are they missing out on!?

A: A great opportunity to get in front of one of Frisco's most engaging crowds. I been to 5 Unrapped events and the crowd and the vibe is always hella live. The music is good and the locations nice. There's a bar down the street, 711 right across the street, a tattoo parlor, an Asian food joint, a Mexican food joint, and the beach 3 blocks away. This is held at The Honey Hive Gallery

8. What do you expect your audience or current fans to get from listening to your music?

A: From the music I currently got out right now, a young turnt up, Yay Area dude wit hella drive, that doesn't feed my fans no bullshit. If people are gonna be influenced by my music, I want them to experience it the same way I'd tell it to em in person. I want my fans to hear the truth whether its ugly or nice. Other than that I want to motivate my fans, that's like my biggest goal with whatever I do.

9. Where do you see yourself in five years from now, still performing?

A: Mos Def. Not just around Cali either, I plan to expand. I see myself doing a bunch of things 5 years from now though. It wont just be music.

10. I have been promoting and following you for a while now, but for those not following what are they missing out on?

A: They're missing an experience of The 650. There's not too many artist reppin my side of The Bay, and you know where I'm from when you slap my shit.

11. I ask all of the local artists I interview, but if I were able to look at your iPhone's playlist or computer's library - What kind of genres or songs would I find?

A: Strictly Hip Hop and R&B. Not that I discriminate though. I like listening Nipsey Hussle, YG, J Cole, Eminem, T.I., TLC, Usher, Dolla, any artist with a something to pay attention to.

12. Where can new followers find your music and follow you on your social media sites?

A: As of now, they can just look up Soundcloud: KaeBee, YouTube: KaeBee, IG: kaebee__ , Twitter: OfficialKaeBee Datpiff: KaeBee


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page