top of page

Interview with French Vanilla


Questions:

1. What made you want to be a local artist - Anyone inspire you to pursue this dream?

A: Well I want to be more than a "local artist", my music teacher once told me that if you represent yourself as a local artist, you will always stay local and never expand. So I like to say emerging artist! But anyways, I did get inspired by some folks, one of them including one of my ex boyfriends who used to rap. I didn't like what he would talk about in his raps and I knew I was capable and had a message to get accross, so I tried it for myself.

2. How did you come across the stage name "French Vanilla"?

A: Well before "French Vanilla" I was "Young French", I thought that was too basic, and I needed something more girly i guess? So I started thinking of flavors, names, colors, anything to put next to French, after hours of searching I finally found French Vanilla. America's favorite flavor :) 3. What do you expect your audience or current fans to get from listening to your music?

A: I expect them to really listen to my lyrics and the message I'm trying to get across, which is mostly, don't let people take advantage of you, you can do this on your own, forget the haters, let them be your motivation. I just want them to get out of it what I do, music is healing for me. This is my only outlet thus far, and I take it very seriously. 4. Where do you see yourself in five years from now?

A: In five years from now, I see myself not living in the bay area, doing shows 3-4 times a week, interviews every week, constant media and radio station visits. I just want to be known by then, all over the US and all over the world, I think I can make that happen! I want to work with some big artists, travel, and go on tour every summer. 5. I know you are working on an album, how's that been?

A: Ah, it's finally released! My first EP actually. It feels so good to be done, I have been non-stop working and now that it's finally out, I'm like now what do I do? haha I almost got bored for a second. but as an artist, you should never get bored, there's always something to be working on, it's out, on CD baby, Soundcloud, it will be on iTunes, Google play, etc in a few weeks! 6. Do you remember how we began networking on Instagram?

A: I sorta do, ya! I know you found me from Babii Cris's page? Right? And then we started choppin it up, in the DM's and then got each others numbers??? I hope thats right, 7. I have been promoting and following you for sometime now, but for those not following what are they missing out on?

A: Those that are'nt following, they're missing out on my fun and adventurous lifestyle, my diverse different style of music, and my oh so cute loving puppy stone. Haha. but seriously - you want to follow me, I post the best pictures, I show love to everybody, I'm always reposting and posting cool and funny stuff!. 8. I ask all of the local artists I interview, but if I were to look at your iPhone's music playlist or computer's library - What kind of genres or songs would I find?

A: If you were to look at my music library you would find anything and everything from the 1940's classic all the way till today's genres. I'm a music lover, I have a love for all music. I love all genres. I'm not too fond of Country, but I love Jazz, Rock and Roll, Hip-Hop, R&B, EVERYTHING. all the way from Dean Martin, Frank Sinatra, Dzzy Gillespie, to Frank Zappa, the Beatles, Madonna, Earth Wind and Fire, Eminem. I told you EVERYTHING!!!! I am so diverse. 9. Where can new followers find your music and follow you on your social media sites?

A: My EP is available on CD Baby, Www..cdbaby.com/cd/frenchvanilla or Soundcloud.com/frenchvanillaworld Tweet me @young_french420 Tnstagram @frenchvanilla420 Facebook.com/frenchvanillatakeover

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page