top of page

Interview with Landon Wordswell


Q1. What made you want to be an artists and many performances have you been involved with?

Mos Def. Talib Kweli. Black Star made me do it. They made me want to do something important. I’m from the St Louis area so all we had was radio and Nelly. I mean, I enjoyed those things before I ever heard of Black Star. I remember it completely blowing my mind. The feeling was so surreal. My best friend at the time, Will, moved in to the STL area from Brooklyn, NY. He really got me into wanting to do music like that. I was awful at first. Like Cot damn awful. You know the type - Good lyrical content, but hadn't quite mastered the flow patterns yet. Our high school watched me struggle and their lack of support turned to motivation for me.

As far as performances. I mean, when I go on tour my team books me 7 shows a week. Sometimes 8 or 9. They know my body can handle it. Our whole mentality is "Sleep when we die". At the end of May this year I had 150 shows completed. I've couldn't even guess how many I've done these past 10 years of touring. By the way shout out to my managers, Chris and Jade! Couldn't do this without them.

Q2. How did you come across the artist name - "Landon Wordswell"?

Well, in high school my rap name was 'Youngs'. I used to be one of those "I hate everything that isn't 'real' hip hop" kind of kids. So, that name was kind of taunting all of the "little" this and "Big" that and "Young" these rap names.

I did a radio interview in Chicago once that changed my name. The radio host told me, "Man, I love your music, but if I can be honest I hate your name." The moment he said that reminded me of the movie "House Party" when the dude hits the DJ table and the music stops. Man, it was weird, but he picks back up by saying, "It’s just that you Land on Words Well. You should have a name that reflects that." then he goes "Wait! Landon. Landon Wordswell". I brought it back to my then partner, Sammy Faze. He loved it. I kept it.

Q3. What do you expect your audience or current fans to get from listening to your music?

I expect them to get an understanding. I write a lot of introspective music. Sometimes it comes off as self-deprecating I suppose, but the intention is to be purely therapeutic. I believe that it's easier to relate to a human that doesn't think he's a God. So, I write my honest thoughts and opinions about myself. It helps me. It helps them. To me that's a win-win. At my shows I not only want them to understand that. I want them to FEEL that. There is a lot of high octane party songs at my shows, but I still save time to perform the ones that my followers come to expect. It's ok to party and have fun, but it's important to keep it realistic as well. Connecting with people in that way is priceless. Perspective is everything.

Q4. Where do you see yourself in 5 years from now? Still performing as an artist or settling down to focus more on your son?

Here's the thing many folks don't understand. Especially in my shoes. For a virtually unknown emcee I do well for my family and son. Exceptionally. People seem to feel that if you're not famous you're starving. If that was the case I would have quit. I mean, a little person depends on me! ha It's not really a him or rap thing. I literally do it FOR him. My son is 2 now. I've never made so much of a splash in my career then I have in the last 2 years. I owe him for that because I've never wanted success this much. Every day is another day to do better for him. Often after shows I hear "You rap like your life depends on it". That's because it does. He is my entire life force right now. Those two things are synonymous. In 5 years I see myself being able to tour less and coming home to him more. I want him to grow with the understanding that Daddy loves him enough to sacrifice. I want my sacrifice to mean something. At the end of the day when he wants for nothing I want him to know that if Daddy can do it so can he because he will be a better version of me. I'll be rapping til I'm dead. I'm blessed to make a living off rap thus far and I haven't even done the things I plan on doing yet. Again, shout out to my management. They take care of business.

Q5. I love listening to "Clip Those Wings" track, did you expect that would be the track everyone would love?

I didn't. The beat was given to me by my old label head, Thomas Prime. I've made some of my best songs with him. My most popular solo song, "Forget Everything", was also produced by him. All of the songs we made together I thought were cool, but they effect people differently. When you craft introspective lyrics you're trying to give off a feeling that the instrumental is giving you. It's a very karmic method. A circle of good vibes. Generally speaking, the songs I think will be big aren't. So, now I just make the music that I feel like making at the time and see what happens. I don't like to say "This one is the one" or what not.

Q6. What was your reaction after performing on stage in Corvallis, Oregon when opening up to Warren G?

First off I want to thank Cloud for that opportunity. The Yee is strong right now. He'll know what I mean by that. He's seen me struggle and climb for years now. Just another day at the office, man. I say that often. It's because if I've learned anything from one of my best friends and mentors that I tour with it's that you can't be great without keeping your head level and never being surprised at how far you've come. You must find the balance between being humble and knowing what you're put here to do. It can get confusing when Humility is your best friend in this business & confidence is your best tool. I spend the better half of the days thanking my God for these opportunity & thanking him for giving me the skill set and strength to get this far. I love performing in Oregon. I lived there for a bit and they show love when I come back. The crowd's energy was on fire. I was looking at the footage and the saw that the whole building was on their feet. That's a blessing. That was an emotional moment for me. Seeing them ride the roller coaster with me made me feel so many things. Alive being one of those feelings. I'm so grateful for that opportunity.

Q7. I have been promoting and following you for some time now, but for those not following what are they missing out on?

I can't say what they're missing because my music is mainly made to relate to people. Without knowing the listener personally I can't say exactly what I can provide them. Sure I can battle rap and boast with the best of them, but when you get an album of mine you seldom hear that. I want my music to mean something to someone for years to come. Conceptually I want them to contemplate. I want them to think. I want them to feel. That's why I stopped battle rapping and boasting on albums. It means nothing at the end of the day. It's fun. Fun is good. But a man once told me, "Yea you can battle rap anybody, but you should write like the world ended & there are 2 people left on earth. If they can pick up a capsule with your lyrics in it what would you want it convey about your experiences here?" that statement changed my whole style up.

Q8. I ask all of the local artists I interview, but if I were to look at your iPhone or computer - What kind of genres or songs would I find?

Man, honestly. I love the thought of being a hip hop artist that doesn't listen to hip hop that often and has an eclectic taste, but that just isn't me. I love hip hop. It saved my life. I have hip hop on top of hip hop with a hint of hip hop in my phone.

I was raised on soul and neo soul so there is a lot of Erykah Badu and Jill Scott. My son loves that stuff so I play it to rock him to sleep.

Q9. Where can new followers find your music and follow you on your social media sites?

I don’t use social sites as much as should! But here they are:

www.facebook.com/LandOnWords

www.twitter.com/LandonWordswell

www.instagram.com/LandonWordswell

Thanks for the interview!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page