top of page

Interview with Turtle T


Questions:

1. What made you want to be a local artist - Anyone inspire you to pursue this dream?

A: I never really aspired to be a "local" artist,or even an artist at that, I've just always needed a creative outlet to express myself. Started as bboy and after a major injury I started using rap/music as my medium. I was inspired by local artists/groups such as Blue Scholars, Gabriel Teodros, Common Market, and Cypha Alliance because it was the first local hip hop I had been exposed to and it was repping my city.

2. How did you come across the stage name "Turtle T"?

A: When I started taking music serious I decided I wanted a name that would always remind me of who I am and where I came from. So I used my childhood nickname Turtle T(oes). It came from my grandma who I deeply loved and admired. I was always a shy kid so it just kinda made sense.

3. What do you expect your audience or current fans to get from listening to your music?

A: Ultimately, I think I provide my fans with a humanly honest perspective of life and the things we all go through along the way. Of course it is music first and foremost so it has to sound good. I'm not tryna shove my opinions and message down anyone's throat but tap into raw human experience. I've been told my music is the things that people think but never really say. I take pride in being diverse and touch every spectrum i.e. make a song about partying or going through a breakup, or even some of my darker thoughts and experiences. I believe I bring smooth rap style over jazzy hip hop production that draws from an array of musical influences icluding jazz, reggae, r&b, soul, and hip hop.

4. Where do you see yourself in five years from now, still performing?

A: In five years I hope that I will have established myself as an artist to the point that I can quit my job and make music my career. I would like to be able to support myself comfortably from my art so I can free up more time to create. I also hope to be touring and traveling. I will definitely always be creating and making music.

5. Do you have any upcoming shows coming up?

A: I am also in group called Nu Era and we have a show with Hallow Earth radio at the end of Febuary as well as a show in Idaho in March. There is nothing in the books for my solo music but I am in the works of planning my next release show for late spring of this year so stay tuned!

6. Do you remember how we began networking on Instagram?

A: I don't remember the details but I know we linked on Instagram and you have always shown love and supported the cause. In return I respect and support you creating a platform for other artists to get some exposure as well as connect. So thank you!

7. I have been promoting and following you for sometime now, but for those not following what are they missing out on?

A: For those not following me your missing out on fresh new music and being in the know for some really dope shows from some of the most talented up and coming artist from the town. Not just myself but all the other artists I support as well. Not just because they're the homies but because I was a fan first and truly believe in their talents!

8. I ask all of the local artists I interview, but if I were to look at your iPhone's music playlist or computer's library - What kind of genres or songs would I find?

A: If you looked at my iPhone playlist right now you would Def see a gang of hip hop but also lots of Island Reggae, R&B, and soul. Been bumping that new Leon Bridges tough!

9. Where can new followers find your music and follow you on your social media sites?

A: Most of my music is on my bandcamp: turtlet.bandcamp.com for free but as of late I've been releasing my new music on soundcloud (Turtle_T) exclusively. Be sure to follow my IG @whatsupturtle for updates on new shows/music/life!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page