top of page

Interview with Taste Nate


Questions: 1. What made you want to be a local artist - Anyone inspire you to pursue this dream? A: Hip hop has always been my outlet, I have been creating material for over ten years. I never really looked at the dream as a short term relationship, it is part of my lifestyle. If it were for anything else, I would have adopted a different remedy to express my feelings and ideas. I have used my art to practice active release from anything that is in my environment. We are (local artists) the media outlet for this time and place. We are just as important if not more important than any artist on any label in any city because we are authentic to what is happening here and now. I looked up to my older brother and his friends a lot as a young lad. They listened to gangster rap, mostly Bay Area and West Coast artists like E-40 and the Click, Celly Cel, Dubee, X-raided, Tupac, Do or Die, Bone Thugs, Snoop Dogg, Master P, Dj Quik, and Andre Nickatina. During high school I started studying more of the Boom Bap, lyrical and revolutionary artists (Mostly East Coast) that made me believe that I had a voice for more than street poetry. I started to implement more of that kind of approach to my freestyles and wrote more about my raps than about what was going on around me. Now I feel like I do both but in a really weird left field way. I had to start free-styling in order to hang out and party with them. 2. How did you come across the stage name "Taste Nate"? A: I started using Taste Nate as a title, when we created the Group "Stems of Wisdom" back in 2010 with the Homie Rod Zilla (Social SF) and my big bro Swoll Cat Matt. We decided it was fitting because it had only two syllables and it aligned with my other brand "Yellow Cake Radio". I think a lot people get thrown off by Taste Nate, because their mind is in the gutter, but I like to think that my Taste in beats, my Taste in words, my Taste in style is kind of reserved for a certain group of people. I also think that my ability to eat up material and concepts without really thinking too much about perception or what I get from it in return. On stage, Taste Nate can either be very energetic and in your face or very laid back and in the pocket, it is all about how I am feeling at the time, It is also a reflection of the audience. I used to worry about being received (by the crowd) but now I just leave my celestial imprint in the place. 3. What do you expect your audience or current fans to get from listening to your music? A: My people are very brave and intelligent. Many of the people that are drawn to my message are either poets or individuals that are following an unconventional lifestyle. I don't really expect much from people, there are so many people trying to embellish their persona in order to gain attention. Everything always comes back around to you when you least expect it. If my people can receive some of the healing that I often get from creating, then I feel I have provided a successful artifact. 4. Where do you see yourself in five years from now? Still performing? A: We are creating our future right now, so what I am doing presently is building my brand and audience. I would like to secure a network that provides a platform for artists like my self to shine and stimulate growth. I think that If I am not performing I will be involved with production in one way or another, but if I am performing I will be getting respected for my craft and artistic vision. 5. I love listening to "DiNASTY" featuring Skky Phillips - Have you ever performed that song live, if so what was the crowd's energy like? A: I am glad you enjoy that song, that was one of the first songs that Skky ever recorded so this kind of feedback should encourage her to make more tracks with me. I have not performed since I would need her to bless it with me. I like to collab with new people all the time, especially if I am really close with them. I especially like when someone sends me something that they had in mind for me to speak to. The beats are very inspirational, I am fortunate to be able to work with so many dope beat makers and artists. 6. I know you have performed and have been involved with many hip-hop shows - What has been the best show you have performed at? A: I think that some of the best shows we have done were at the Boom Boom Room in the Fillmore district of SF. They have a weekly event call Hip Hop ROTC (return of the cypher), where some of the hungriest and most talented emcees come to freestyle over a live band. We have been given the honor to rock there a few times and each time is doper than the last. One love to ROTC founders (J Slice IX, Kensho Kuma, MC Orukusaki, Emcee Infinite, M.C. Mars). 7. I have been promoting and following you for a little bit now, but for those not following you what are they missing out on? A: A writer not afraid to share ideas others are afraid to. A man that is not afraid to make love music and be emotionally vulnerable. A weirdo that loves his space craft, using it to explore his innerself and the whole landscape of our Universe. You are not too late, I think that music is special to the listener. So it is new music when it is new to you, not the date that it is released. 8. I ask all of the local artists I interview, but if I were to look at your iPhone's music playlist or computer's library - What kind of genres or songs would I find? A: My itunes has all my rough giraffes (drafts) and all the beats I am working on. I have a ton of soul music like The Isley Brothers, Gladys Knight, Isaac Hayes, Bill Withers. Jazz music like George Duke, George Benson, Miles Davis. Some of my timeless selections like Sade, Steel Pulse, Gang Starr, A Tribe Called Quest and Pete Rock. I won't really listen to new rap artists until all the hype has worn off unless it is Local or underground, then I will usually bump the actual CD. 9. Where can new followers find your music and follow you on your social media sites? A: Add me Facebook, IG, Twitter, Snapchat ; They are all TasteNate. Buy my albums on itunes or download for free at www.tastenate.bandcamp.com I have a few on spotify as well. Listen to my songs on soundcloud.com/tastenater or go to youtube.com/yellowcakeradiosf and watch some of our content. We also have a music blog call Yellowcakeradio.com where we write in depth articles and album reviews with the brother Gigio.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page