top of page

Interview with Ol' Soul


Questions:

1. What made you want to be a local artist - Anyone inspire you to pursue this dream?

A: I can't really speak on what made me want to be a local artist specifically, but as far as being an artist in general, I can say that artist such as Michael Jackson, Andre 3000, Lauryn Hill, and many more, have inspired me to pursue music.

2. How did you come across the stage name "Ol' Soul? A: Well since a kid I've been referred to as an Ol' Soul. When I was a baby my grandmother would say that I had been here before, as if I was from the past and my soul had been placed into this new body. I've always felt like I don't belong in this time. From the clothes I wear to my manerisum and even how I speak it is evident that I am an Ol' Soul.

3. What do you expect your audience or current fans to get from listening to your music?

A: My music is for everyone. It doesn't have a genre. Sometimes it's soul or R&B, other times it's hip hop and Pop. The only thing you can expect from me is creativity and great lyrics.

4. I enjoy listening to the remake of "Love You Down", what's the story behind remaking that song?

A: I've always liked the original and wanted to make my own version. On the day before Valentines day I randomly decided to recreate, record and put out the song. It's the first time I have ever made a song and released it the same day!

5. Do you have any upcoming shows coming up?

A: Yes! I'll be performing on March 4th and March 9th in the Bronx and Brooklyn. I'd advice everyone to like my Facebook page Ol' Soul to get more information about my upcoming shows.

6. Do you have any big projects or videos coming out this year, that you can't wait to share with the world?

A: I'm currently wrapping up my EP Sonic Colors. It's going to be dope! I feel like there's a song for everyone on this project. Every track sounds different. Every track is a different Color!

7. I just recently began promoting you and following you, but for those not following what are they missing out on?

A: If you're looking for something different, new and creative, come check me out! My sound is the perfect balance of new and old. Don't miss out!

8. I ask all of the local artists I interview, but if I were to look at your iPhone's music playlist or computer's library - What kind of genres or songs would I find?

A: You would find, Pop, Hip hop, R&B, Soul, Folk along with artist like James Blake, Kimbra, Kendrick, The Game, Chance the Rapper, Jill Scott, D' Angelo and many more.

9. Where can new followers find your music and follow you on your social media sites?

A: PLEASE Like my Facebook page Ol' Soul. FOLLOW me on IG @_Ol_Soul and on SoundCloud Ol' Soul

Thank you so much for this interview, I really appreciate it!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page