top of page

Interview with Kayer

Questions:

1. What made you want to be a local artist - Anyone inspire you to pursue this dream?

A: It's a long story, my Hip-Hop roots go back to being a kid in Baltimore Md., in the late 80's early 90's Hip-Hop was pretty much in every household, my introductory was through skateboarding and graffiti writing, it was 1993 when they sent me to live with my Mom that had left to the Oregon Coast years before, real quik I linked up with the Skaters and Hip-Hop heads of Portland. We were fans of East Coast Rap, but it was around this time West Coast groups like Cypress Hill, Hieroglyphics, Freestyle Fellowship and The Pharcyde really lead the the culture out here. Albums '93 Til Infinity by Souls of Mischief and Innercity Griots by Freestyle Fellowship are a couple records that really inspired me to rap. Me and my homie Arius Blaze used to drive around and freestyle to beat tapes we had, it was all fun! Around ‘95 I started rockin little house party Jams, downtown cyphers, etc. In 1997 I won Battle of The Year at the DC5 B-Boy Fellowship. It wasn't a huge battle but it was one of those moments I realized that this gettin kinda serious and I love performing live. My crew in this era was Forgotten Dialect and my Graff crew AOM were supported by some of the veteran crews in Portland like KFS, SMS, OFA, etc.. That is what really kept the word out anytime I dropped a song, tape or was rockin at a party. I gotta thank DJ Venom for hookin shows and Deena B from KBOO radio, they were always helping me get on, DJ Void along with DJ Wicked were known as the Audio Orphans always had my back. Some of my first real legit gigs in the late 90’s were opening for Hungry Mob, Mystic Journeymen, L'Roneous and can't forget Kirby Dominant w/Dj Icewater who later became friends when I moved to the Bay. I'm real fortunate when I showed up here in 2002 I was already down with the local cats from selling tapes with Below The Surface and ATAK were the main distributors of underground Hip-Hop back then. With those connects I started performing with Sublevel Epidemic/LA2theBay artists Kegs One, Maleko, Cosiner, Spex and Optimus Rhymes. Those shows along with the releases we had are basically my earlier Bay Area roots of becoming a local artist here. Once I got settled in Oakland 2005, Cosiner and Project Blowed MC Spoon (of Iodine) became my main recording partners and I pretty much began rockin solo at shows.

2. Is there a story behind how you decided to name yourself "Kayer"?

A: My name came from writing graff "Kaer Aom”. The Northwest was a tough place to paint with the cops being so heavy, that I actually released my first tapes as Kaera One was an alias to keep it seperated from my graff name, people addressed me as both and sometimes an old friend will still call me Kaerah. I added the "y" to make it more legible around 2004.

3. What do you expect your audience or current fans to get from listening to your music?

A: For my old school heads, I really just want to deliver that true school flavor from the golden-era has a sound that can't be replicated unless you were there. I'm kinda frozen in time, in that sense. My positive growth with younger fans is to teach that hard work pays off. I understand what young people and people of struggle go through, just keep workin and grow past whatever is holding you back. Another important focus is just good song writing and good music people relate to.

4. I just listened to your music how would you describe the beats from the whole album? Would you say it sounds like other artists we know?

A: That group of beats come from a weird time, the majority were produced around 03-05 by Vinroc, Stressnotic and Cosiner in a time when we were tryin to stop using samples, it was also when even alot of traditional boombap producers started using Pro-Tools or the computer for edits. I think there was other artists going threw the same thing around this time. The songs "City Lytez" and "Same Page" are actually remixes by young producer Ian Mckee, you can hear the sound quality difference definately. I'm happy to be back to classic boombap beats is what my fans want to hear and what I love to make.

5. Just by listening to your music and looking at the titles from your album, you seem to have a strong message to share with the world, have you always been on this path to spread about the truth?

A: When it comes to Hip-Hop or speaking out live you gotta be real with folks, this music is just an expression of reality and as a True School MC its my responsibility to call out the wack and fake, cause that BS is not Hip-Hop.

6. Where do you see yourself five years from now, still performing or settling down to be with your family?

A: I'll never stop, my wife has always been very supportive. I've taken a couple breaks cause life was beating me down, becoming a father in in 2009 hit me hard but when my second son was born, thats when I got back at it. I want them to grow up around this an know that I am passionate about something I started over twenty years ago now. And art is forever, it dont matter what date is on a record or who does the most shows its more about the love involved with the whole process.

7. I enjoyed listening to "Rewind a Decade" from your Bandcamp what is the story behind making this project? I bet the studio sessions were cool to sit in, how would you describe your studio sessions?

A: Rewind a decade is archives from 2003-2007 it was originally supposed to be released in 2007. I was also making the Latin B-Sides version to go with it because I also rap in Spanish. When the economy hit us hard, it was the combo of strugglin and becoming a father, it just wasn't the time to drop a record, especially one that I had worked so hard for. As far as the studio sessions and all the artists I worked with, for me its legendary. My friends Cosiner, Spoon (of Iodine), and Dj Icewater contributed the most, Spoon introduced me to P.E.A.C.E. of Freestyle Fellowship who lived blocks away from me in E. Oakland, those cyphers are unforgettable, he is one of the dopest freestylers ever. Working with Vinroc (Triple Threat DJs) was real cool, kids dont even know he's the the ITF World Champion DJ 1997 and 1998, Eddie K of Gurp City would also come threw and inspire me as well. "City Lytez" featuring Jungle Brown (Camp Lo affiliate) is a rare gem to have, Luna Angel blessed the hook on "Tryin Hard" the lists goes on, some real cool people I crossed paths with while livin in Oakland and going to The Corner Store Studios. I re-opened the files in 2013, Engineer/Producer Ian Mckee help bring it back to life. Originally the album title was "Truly Blastin" but once it became an over 10 year archives project it felt right to call it "Rewind a Decade". It was released 3/25/15 Cd/Digital and 10/22/15 on vinyl.

8. Do you have any upcoming shows coming up?

A: Bay Area dates, 3/4 San Francisco ( Honey Hive Gallery), 3/19 Half Moon Bay (J7 Studios), 4/9 Sebastopol (Lucky Star Bar), 4/15 Santa Rosa (Whiskey Tip)

9. Do you plan on filming some videos from your album "Rewind a Decade" to share with the world anytime soon?

A: Check out "On Your Station" produced by Jaz Jetzon, video by Fish Eye, oldie but goodie we made it in 2006, that was from Rewind a Decade. Now I'm off on new projects, DJ Fossil and myself have a project called "Redwood Hideout" the video and single are real close to being released. I am also working on a new vinyl that I will announce soon.

10. I just recently began following you, but for those not following what are they missing out on? Again thank you for reaching out, the IG love and for following me I really appreciate that!

A: Of course thank you and everyone supporting Futuristic Dreamers! Much respect for what your doing I really appreciate. And if you dont follow yet your missing out on great Hip-Hop culture. Hit the link and get wit it!

11. I ask all of the local artists I interview, but if I were to look at your iPhone's music playlist or computer's library - What kind of genres or songs would I find?

A: My computers and phone are completely clogged with homegrown tracks I listen to, I stream songs I like sometimes. When I really want to listen, I bump all hard copies, old school Hip-Hop, 90's golden era Hip-Hop, West Coast Underground Hip-Hop, Jazz, Reggae, Salsa, Cumbia, Trip-Hop, even some Rock and Heavy Metal is good for me.

12. Where can new followers find your music and follow you on your social media sites?

A: Kayermusic.com

Hitstatusrecords.com Kayer.bandcamp.com

Soundcloud.com/kayermusic

Youtube.com /kayermusic

Instagram.com/kayermusic

Twitter.com/kayermusic

Facebook.com/kayerhiphop

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page