top of page

Interview with Karen Less


Questions:

1. How did you decide to use "Karen Less" as your stage name?

A: I was given the name 'Karen Less' by my producer and big brother Mike Fish of Mindscape productions. I didn't have an official name for a long time and over time we kicked around a lot of names, but Karen Less just seemed to fit. I really identified with it musically because I am really very uninhibited when I write and when I rhyme so I just am Karen Less.

2. Do you have any upcoming shows coming up?

A: Well yes I do as a matter of fact. I mean I'm going to be traveling for a few weeks in March but when I'm not in New York I have a show at the Starline in downtown Oakland onMarch 16th with The Brother's Amor. I am peforming April 1st at First Friday on the main stage in the evening with Mike Fish. Also I am hosting We in the Place, an event at Au Lounge on April 28th that should be really really really dope, i'm extremely proud of the lineup which includes Beejus, a West Oakland rapper with the Free Spirit movement and Stretch McFresh one of the producers of the youtube series, Just Aint Heard of me Yet.

3. After listening to your music it seems like you have something to tell the world and it also seems like you really want to represent for us, females. How would you describe your studio sessions?

A: I definitely have a message, but that message is purely based on my personal tailor-made life lessons. I would never claim to represent the entire women gender because I can only represent myself. I am a proud woman, yes, so obviously that brings a very feminine energy to my music and my recording sessions. I don't think in terms of men and women when it comes to hip hop though. I don't feel like i'm any different when I pick up a mic and spit, I don't compare and contrast, I just feel like myself.

4. What do you expect your audience or current fans to get from listening to your music?

A: I can't predict exactly what my audience will experience when listening to The Good News album for sure, but If they are anything like me, they will feel better than they did before they had a listen. When I write, I write to lift my spirits and to keep my vibrations high, whether it be venting to get something off my chest or it be celebrating an achievement and good times, it's always a means to keep things positive or shed some light on a negative situation.

5. Where do you see yourself in five years from now, still performing?

A: I try to see myself in 5 years all the time, but I have trouble projecting a vision of what I will be doing that far in the future. Sometimes manifesting what I will be doing next week can be a challenge! I try to meditate on how I will feel rather what I will be doing because that seems to help me attract great experiences, so to answer your question, I want to feel happy in 5 years, so if performing music still fulfills me at that time, it is most definitely something I will still be doing.

6. I have been promoting you for a little bit now, but for those not following what are they missing out on?

A: Thank you for all of your support, I really appreciate anyone that can relate to me and connects with my art. For those people that haven't heard of Karen Less or don't know what the heck a 'Karen Less' is, I am just a young woman on a journey. I speak from my heart and that can be very powerful in a world full of fear. I am unapologetic for my words, so I make sure to speak the truth, raw and uncut. My sound in old school boom bap hip hop, so anyone that can get down with the legends will certainly appreciate me breathing new life back into the culture that is hip hop, that is if they're into that sort of thing ;)

7. I ask all of the local artists I interview, but if I were able to look at your iPhone's playlist or computer's library - What kind of genres or songs would I find?

A: You would find an eclectic bunch in my musical library. I listen to a wide range of music and a large variety of artists. Everything from Kelis, Nelly Furtado, Spice Girls and Fiona Apple to Greenday, Nina Simone, System of a Down and Earth Wind and Fire. What a lineup that would be for a concert huh?

8. Where can new followers find your music and follow you on your social media sites?

A: My instagram is @Chicki_Chacka_

I have a Karen Less music fb fanpage

My album is available on all major digital distribution sites including Itunes, Amazon, GooglePlay, Spotify etc.

I have a Karen Less station on Pandora

I have 2 music videos out on Youtube for the songs Struggle to Grow and Forgive

Easy of the album The Good News

Search: Karen Less The Good News... Cheers!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page